The globally recognized Priyadarshni Awards is conferred on global achievers from different disciplines every other year. The Priyadarshni Academy, who confers these awards, is an NGO engaged in social, educational and cultural pursuits. At its global awards function, which it holds every year, it aims to recognize business persons who, in a similar spirit, realize and fulfill their obligations towards the community. With the passing years, the Priyadarshni Awards have achieved worldwide recognition.  The 28th Anniversary Global Awards Function is going to be held on 18th Sept., 2012 at 3:00 pm at the Regal Room, the Trident, Nariman Point, Mumbai.  Nanik Rupani, Chairman, Priyadarshni Academy and Dr. R.A. Mashelkar, Chairman, Global Awards Advisory Committee have announced the first batch of global awards for the year 2012. Shri Ghulam Nabi Azad, Hon’ble Union Minister of Health and Family Welfare will be the Chief Guest and Shri Dilip Walse-Patil, Hon’ble Speaker, Maharashtra State Legislative Assembly and Shri Anil Deshmukh, Hon’ble Minister, Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Protection, Govt. of Maharashtra will be the Guests of Honour at the function.
About 8 awards will be presented this year. Kumar Mangalam Birla, Chairman, Aditya Birla Group will be conferred the Harish Mahindra Memorial Global Award for Outstanding Contribution to Globalisation of Indian Industry. Dr. Samir Brahmachari, Director General, CSIR will be conferred the Global Award for Outstanding Contribution to Science-led Inclusive Innovations.  Mr. Nirj Deva, Member, European Parliament will receive the Global Award for Outstanding Contribution to International Development. Dr. Jeanne Devos, National Co-ordinator, Domestic Workers Movement will receive the Ramkrishna Bajaj Memorial Global Award for Outstanding Contribution to Protecting the Rights of Domestic Workers. The biennial Smita Patil Memorial Award will be conferred upon Hindi film actor Deepika Padukone. Mr. Aditya Puri, Managing Director, HDFC Bank will be bestowed the Global Award for Outstanding Contribution as a Visionary Leader in the Banking Industry. Dr. Jacques Rogozinski, General Manager, Inter-American Investment Corporation, USA will be bestowed the Global Award for Outstanding Contribution to Economic Development Leveraging on Small and Medium Enterprises. Juan Schiaretti, a political leader from Argentina will receive the Global award for outstanding contributions to improved living conditions of the poor and for political transparency.